Episode 28 – A Mighty Oak

Episode 28 – A Mighty Oak

Apparently one of the possible intents and purposes of For All Intents and Purposes is to be socially conscious! With that in mind, they focus this week on discussion––for the most part––socially conscious gaming.

Week in Geek: Andrew plays the indie hit, Papers, Please, while Dan reads the manga, Opus, by the late, great anime director, Satoshi Kon.

The Teaser Awakens: An 88-second teaser trailer for J. J. Abrams’ Star Wars: The Force Awakens hit the internet this week and, because everybody was talking about it, Dan and Andrew thought it’d be smart to talk about it, too!

Discussion: Spurred by the not-so-subtle commentary found in Papers, Please, Andrew and Dan decide to take a look at socially-conscious gaming in general, though they mostly discuss video games––everything from Red Dead Redemption to Brenda Romero’s experiential tabletop game, Train.

Metal Gear Lecture: With the idea of socially-conscious games on the brain, we discuss the strange place that the PS1 classic, Metal Gear Solid, occupies along that continuum.

Question of the Geek:

What is your favorite work of military-themed fiction?

You may leave your answers or any other comments at the page for this episode found at forall.libsyn.com. You may also leave your answers or join the discussions found at the official Facebook or Google+ pages. You may email your comments, questions, or concerns to forallpod@gmail.com.

For all intents and purposes, that was an episode recap.

Featured Music:

-“Stayin’ in Black” by Wax Audio

-“A Galaxy Divided” by Kevin Kiner (from Star Wars: The Clone Wars, based on original music by John Williams)

-“Cantina Band #2” by John Williams (from Star Wars: A New Hope)

-“You Dropped the Bomb on Me” by The Gap Band

-“Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick” by Ian Dury and the Blockheads

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *